Crysis 3


Before I go into this review I must first state that I did not play the previous Crysis games in the series. I picked this game up randomly at a game store and never even heard about the game. That being said I liked the game a lot. The only problem I had with it, was that the game didn’t explain fully what happened in the previous 2.
You are just thrown into what seems like a changed world and barely get any knowledge of what is going on. Now again, I never played the previous 2 games, but I’ve played sequels before. I picked up Mass Effect 2 before playing the first one and knew everything I had to about the previous game.


Crysis 3 had everything you could ask for in a first person shooter. This game would’ve received a perfect 5/5, but the lack of knowing what was going on killed it for me at spots. You play as Prophet, a soldier strapped into an alien suit of armor. The suit gives you Predator like abilities. Enhanced strength, invisibility, shields and enhanced leaping ability.


There is a large amount of customization in the game from different power-ups your suit gets and also the different weapon modifications you can do on your guns. You even get a bow and arrow with different modifications. You can even set how much torque is in the bow when you pull back. Different torque leads to faster or more powerful hits with the arrows.
AGAIN this game is PERFECT, but I don’t know WHT THE HELL IS GOING ON! I thought Prophet was an alien working with the humans. You are with a squad mate Michael, who apparently was also in a suit, but was taken out for some reason.


You’re fighting this group of random human grunts called CELL, but their intentions are pretty unknown. Also aliens called Ceph, which I think is where the suit came from. There is little information about them except a few written texts you find along the way.
This game gets a 4/5, but can easily have been a perfect game if they would’ve had a few flashbacks that explained what was going on or just a character to explain what was going on. And it’s not laziness or sheer neglect on my part. I don’t think I HAVE TO play to previous two games to know what was going on in the third.
I hate to dwell on it, but it’s not hard to explain something to people who haven’t played the previous games before. The way I would’ve done it is simple and quick. It’s a rough idea and I’m writing off the top of my head so this isn’t elaborately thought out.


Show the Earth, aliens invade, soldiers fight back, how does Prophet get the suit, a little about the other characters, what CELL is, aliens getting wiped out, something significant that happened in the second game and what leads you to the opening scene of the third game. SIMPLE!


I don’t even know who ran CELL. Who is in charge of it? For all I know they were random grunts that I wanted to see how many I could kill before someone fired a shot at me. Baring my rant, I give this game a great 4/5 and a must have for previous players of the game and fans of first person shooters.
Joe Reyes

 

Leave a Reply

