Edge Of Tomorrow : Why I Disagree

Even though this movie looks incredibly actioned packed and has one of my favorite actors in it (Tom Cruise), I will not be seeing this movie. After seeing the trailer it wasn’t a hesitation that I had no interest in this movie.

From what I gathered, Earth is invaded by aliens and a military resistance is formed. Tom Cruise seems to be an officer in the military with no training and just looks awful out on the field of combat. But, when he is killed he reverts back to a few days prior before the war began with full knowledge of the events to come. This lets him be able to train and ready himself over and over again until he becomes the ultimate killing machine.

The problem is there is no sense of danger in this movie. If Cruise can just keep coming back over and over again then there is no point to the movie. It’s like playing a videogame with unlimited lives. The enemy could just keep killing you and you can come back knowing where they are. There isn’t a sense of danger for the audience wondering if Cruise will make it to the end of the movie.

I wouldn’t recommend this movie at all based on how I feel about it. Just looks to be a thrown together plotline with a fantasy element that kills the entire allure of a battle.

Joe Reyes

 

12 thoughts on “Edge Of Tomorrow : Why I Disagree

  1. matangala says:

    Seems you are right about that…but remember, its just a movie…. Entertainment and business…more on fiction.

    Like

    • joereyes3 says:

      Of course its just a movie made for entertainment value. The Expendables isn’t a great movie series, but I like it because it entertains me. If Edge of Tomorrow was just a mindless shoot em up then the videogame unlimited lives concept would be great, but this movie tries to do more than just that. It possesses a deeply enriching storyline where you watch the characters grow and evolve. The core concept of the story is what I disagree with as a viable marketing idea. Yes it was created so a company believes in it and yes it will probably do well in the box off sales, that being said I just disagree with it. But thanks for the read and the comment. I will probably segway this discussion of “entertainment vs value” in an upcoming article so you did give me something good to write about. Hope you stop by again and I will check out your site as well.

      Like

  2. Logan says:

    While I agree with some points of your post including the lack of a sense of danger, it is honestly a thrilling ride regardless so that aspect doesn’t affect the movie as much as you think.

    Good post though.

    Like

  3. I wouldn’t dismiss it. Time loop films have their own intrigue. If you take Triangle (2009) as an example, Jess (Melissa George) keeps making things worse and more complicated. In Groundhog Day (1993) Phil (Bill Murray)wants to get out of the loop. Without giving too much of the plot of Edge of Tomorrow, there are consequences and a sense of danger.

    Like

  4. JP Spence says:

    I think we’re thinking the same thing

    Like

  5. sorryjzargo says:

    I don’t want to spoil it, but there actually is a danger to the main character in the movie. I highly recommend seeing the movie, and would suggest seeing movies before you write blogs about why you don’t recommend them.

    Like

    • joereyes3 says:

      Its only because of your last part of your comment and your second comment (which I’m not even going to tease the idea of putting up) that my response to you will be very mean. But let me give you a little lesson in what blogging is. Blogging is “opinions” and I formed one that many people seem to agree with. Also if you checked IMBD box office numbers, Edge of Tomorrow is third worst in gross sales. Which again, I’m going to offer up a little lesson in math (because again of your second comment to me). Which means, quite simply, nobody is seeing this movie. Released after a time when everyone saw X-Men and Godzilla already, Edge of Tomorrow isn’t doing well and people are not seeing it mostly because it doesn’t look that great. Most of my comments are about the movie Groundhog Day and since that was great then Edge of Tomorrow should be good as well. I don’t see movies based on what their core concept mirrors. I chose to see, or do not see, solely based on its face value and never by the opinions of others.I’m not saying in my review “you” don’t see this movie, I’m telling you why “I’m” not seeing this movie. But since you gave me a lot to write about and a few new article ideas I will end this comment with my usual appropriate message “Thank you for viewing and do stop by again to see if i write anything else you might enjoy reading”.

      Like

      • sorryjzargo says:

        My point was that opinions should be educated opinions. Writing off a movie without seeing it is equivalent to judging a book by it’s cover.
        Also, there are numerous reasons that a movie would do poorly in the box office. If you look back through cinema history, there are many movies now considered classics, or at least cult classics, that did poorly at the time of their release because of various reasons. Edge of Tomorrow met some very serious competition with X-Men and The Fault in Our Stars, as well as Godzilla and Maleficent still being in theaters.

        Like

  6. supersaenz says:

    I must say that if you haven’t seen it, you may want to reconsider. Think, The Matrix (Sentinels), D-DAY (Normandy), HALO (Uniforms) and Groundhog Day all wrapped in one. Its a roller coaster. The movie has humor which indicates that it doesn’t take itself serious. I saw it, and I approve this message. There will not be any spoilers here, check out my review on it at http://supersaenz.com/2014/06/07/edge-of-tomorrow-blows-walls-off-theaters/

    Like

  7. CMrok93 says:

    Good review Joe. I couldn’t help myself. I just had too much fun here with this flick.

    Like

  8. cloeyk says:

    I have to disagree because maybe something is going on like in the movie Ground Hog Day. Bill Murray had to repeat the same day every day until something changed in his life and only then did he wake up to a new day. Maybe Tom Cruse has to do something like win the war in order to wake up to a new day. In Ground Hog Day Bill Murray repeated the same day long enough to change his attitude, learn to play the piano, and get the girl. Maybe Tom Cruise needs to learn to fight and win the war. Another scenario would be that Tom Cruise is really a gamer stuck in a game playing out the war. I think it would be interesting to see the special effects and how the movie plays out.

    When you have a moment stop by my blog to discuss books & movies at cloeyk.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

