Diary of the Invader

They say you don’t dream when you’re in cryostasis, but when I woke up I wished I was still dreaming. The pod took a few minute to open. They wanted your eyes to adjust before the bright lights blinded you. Nothing was more important to a soldier than his eyes. Soldier….more like murders. This isn’t war, this was extermination.

“It has to be done” is what our commander kept telling us in the briefing. He made it sound like we didn’t have a choice, but we did. We could’ve combed the galaxy looking for a desolate planet that wasn’t really inhabited. We chose Earth because it was just like Temen. It had the same air, we drank water like them and the changing seasons led to different foods being grown.

So it’s not personal. We aren’t a war driven race whose only goal is proving that we are the toughest in the galaxy. I like to think we evolved above that. When they showed the first pictures of the invasion, our people cheered in the streets. Not me though, all I saw were thousands killed in the blink of an eye. They never stood a chance. We came one day and just started shooting. I don’t think there were any negotiations or any peace talks.

All I thought about was my family. As soon as we had a child I was called into service. “It has to be done” my commander told me again. It was like his catch phrase. Every question I had was answered with that same phrase. I’ve been in cryo for about 1 year. Who knows what I missed? Before we found Earth, we were living in space stations. We literally watched our planet tear to pieces before our eyes.

I felt sick, not because of reminiscing in the past, but physically sick. Before being put under, we were injected with most of the sicknesses the humans possessed. The idea was that the years in cryo would build up our immune system and cure us of the diseases. 5 years is long enough for our bodies to build up immunity to the illnesses. I guess I had some lingering effects from a cold.

“Opening pods!” the technician shouted.

I sighed and closed my eyes. I tried to recite the battle plans again, but for some reason couldn’t. I was a little nervous, probably because this wasn’t something I wanted to do. Again the words of my commander rang in my head, “It has to be done”.

“It’s us or them” I kept telling myself as I heard the nearby pods open up. I knew the best thing to do was do my job quickly, so the inhabitants won’t suffer long. I heard the mechanisms in my pod move and the door opened. A bright light shined in my eyes. I looked around and saw thousand like me emerge from their pods. I sighed again. It’s going to be a short war.

Joe Reyes

This was just a simple short story I came up with.

Leave a Reply

